Duxtop 9600LS Portable Induction Cooktop Review
As an Amazon Associate, we may earn a small commission from qualifying purchases.
Short answer: The Duxtop 9600LS is a single-zone, 1,800 W portable induction cooktop. According to Duxtop’s user manual it has 20 power levels, 20 temperature settings from 100°F to 460°F, a timer of up to 10 hours and a 5-inch minimum pan size. It suits cooks who want a plug-in burner with direct power and temperature control, as long as they have magnetic cookware and a circuit that can carry about 15 A. This review is based on the manufacturer’s manual and published product information. We have not lab-tested it.
Last reviewed: November 1, 2026. Prices and availability change often, so we do not list them here.
See Also:Best Portable Induction Cooktops
Duxtop 9600LS user manual: The specifications on this page come from Duxtop’s user manual for models BT-200DZ, 9600LS and 9610LS (PDF). Our archived PDF manual may be an older revision, so confirm that the manual matches the model number on your unit. More manuals are in our induction cooktop manual directory.
Duxtop 9600LS specs at a glance
| Spec | Per Duxtop’s manual |
|---|---|
| Power supply | 120 V, 60 Hz, 15 A circuit. The manual says to use a dedicated outlet. |
| Output | 100 to 1,800 W |
| Power levels | 0.5 to 10 (default 5.0, or 820 W) |
| Temperature mode | 100°F to 460°F in 20 settings (default 300°F). The readout is only an estimate of the actual cooking temperature. |
| Timer | Up to 10 hours |
| Cookware size | 5-inch minimum flat bottom. A maximum diameter is not stated. |
| Presets | Keep Warm (140°F with a 30-minute timer) and Boil (power level 10 with a 10-minute timer) |
| Auto shutoff | After 120 minutes with no button press, and after about 1 minute with no cookware or the wrong cookware |
| Ventilation | Keep at least 4 inches of clearance |
| Warranty | Two years from the date of purchase for the original purchaser, personal use only, with proof of purchase |
Before purchasing: Check the manufacturer’s current specifications, warranty and availability for the exact model you buy. Use portable cooktops only where permitted, with supervision and adequate ventilation.
Duxtop 9600LS: Controls and Operating Limits
Induction cooktop comparison: Review the Duxtop models below and confirm current specifications, availability and seller details before buying.
Duxtop Induction Cooktops — AzlinkPRO Comparison
Compare the key features, then see current product details and pricing on Amazon.
- Black finish
- Advertised 1,800 W
- LCD sensor-touch controls
- Silver finish
- Advertised 1,800 W
- Gold finish
- Advertised 1,800 W
- Single burner
- Advertised 1,800 W
- Advertised combined 1,800 W
As an Amazon Associate, we may earn a commission from qualifying purchases.
The Duxtop 9600LS portable induction cooktop is an established single-zone model that can serve as a first cooktop for a small space or as an extra burner in a full kitchen. Its 1,800 W rating and adjustable controls cover everyday boiling, sautéing and simmering, but speed and low-heat performance depend on your cookware, settings and recipe. For the difference between the two control modes, see our portable induction power and temperature settings guide.
Before using it in student housing or another shared space, confirm the rules for portable cooking appliances, and make sure an appropriate outlet and induction-ready cookware are available.
Duxtop 9600LS Portable Induction Cooktop (LCD Sensor Touch, 1800 W)
Duxtop 9600LS product details
Duxtop 9600LS Portable Induction Cooktop
- Duxtop 9600LS single induction burner
- Up to 1,800 watts on suitable North American power
- 20 power and 20 temperature settings (manufacturer-listed)
- Flat, magnetic induction-compatible cookware required
- Check current product availability and the exact manual
As an Amazon Associate, we may earn a small commission from qualifying purchases.
Induction has no exposed flame, and the cooktop only heats once suitable cookware is placed on it. The glass can still reach burn-causing temperatures from a hot pan, so use ordinary kitchen precautions. Duxtop’s manual calls for at least 4 inches of clearance for ventilation, so keep the area around the unit clear and keep children away from hot cookware and glass.

Duxtop 9600LS controls: power levels and temperature mode
The 9600LS has an LCD sensor-touch panel with two ways to set heat. In power mode you pick a level from 0.5 to 10, and each range maps to an output band in the manual:
| Power level | Output | Manual’s label |
|---|---|---|
| 0.5 to 2.0 | 100 to 340 W | Simmer, keep warm |
| 2.5 to 4.0 | 420 to 660 W | Low |
| 4.5 to 6.0 | 740 to 1,000 W | Medium-low |
| 6.5 to 8.0 | 1,100 to 1,400 W | Medium-high |
| 8.5 to 10 | 1,500 to 1,800 W | High |
In temperature mode you choose a target from 100°F to 460°F in 20 steps. The manual says the readout is only an estimate of the actual cooking temperature, so use a thermometer when exact food temperature matters. The timer runs up to 10 hours, then beeps and shuts the unit off. Control-lock and child-lock features appear in product listings; confirm them in the manual for your unit. None of these features is a substitute for supervision.
Cookware that works on the Duxtop 9600LS
Duxtop’s manual requires magnetic, flat-bottomed cookware with a base of at least 5 inches. It lists cast iron, iron, magnetic steel, enameled iron and stainless steel with a magnetic bottom as suitable. It lists glass, ceramic, copper, aluminum and non-magnetic stainless steel (18/10 and 18/8) as unsuitable. The manual’s simple test: if a magnet sticks to the bottom of the pan, it should work. The pan should touch the cooktop or sit no more than 1 inch above it. The manual does not state a maximum pan diameter.
If your cookware is fairly new, check it before buying anything: it may already work. If not, you can start with one induction-ready pot or pan and add more later. Our induction-ready cookware guide explains how to check pans you already own.
Related Topic: Best tea kettle for induction cooktops
Duxtop 9600LS: Safety Features and Limitations
The Duxtop 9600LS portable induction cooktop shows diagnostic messages on its display. They help identify some operating conditions but do not remove normal electrical, heat or cooking risks. The manual lists these:
| Display | Meaning per the manual |
|---|---|
| POT | No cookware, incompatible cookware or misaligned cookware |
| E1 | Excessive temperature, fan malfunction or inadequate ventilation. Unplug it, allow 4 inches of clearance and wait 10 minutes. |
| E2 | Cookware bottom above about 554°F (290°C). The unit shuts down after one minute. |
| E3 | Voltage too high or too low. Verify 110/120 V AC. |
The manual says only qualified experts should repair the unit, and it warns against operating it with a damaged surface, cord or plug, immersing the unit or cord in liquid, or placing objects over 25 lbs on it. It also tells people with pacemakers to consult their physician first, because the unit emits an electromagnetic field. For more on that topic, see are induction cooktops safe?
Cleaning. Unplug the unit and let it cool first. Wipe with a moist cloth and mild liquid detergent, then let it dry. The manual advises against metal scouring pads, abrasives, solvents, immersing the unit and the dishwasher.

Duxtop 9600LS pros and cons
Pros
- 20 power levels (100 to 1,800 W) and 20 temperature settings (100°F to 460°F), per the manual
- Timer of up to 10 hours, plus Keep Warm and Boil presets
- Pan detection: shuts off after about 1 minute with no or wrong cookware
- Clear diagnostic messages (POT, E1, E2, E3) with causes listed in the manual
- Two-year warranty for the original purchaser, per the manual
Cons
- Works only with magnetic, flat-bottomed cookware of at least 5 inches
- Needs a 15 A circuit, and the manual calls for a dedicated outlet
- The temperature readout is only an estimate of actual cooking temperature
- Single zone, personal use only under the warranty
- We have not tested it, so real-world speed and low-heat control are unverified
Duxtop 9600LS: Final Buying Considerations
The Duxtop 9600LS is a reasonable single-burner model to put on your shortlist if you want fine power and temperature steps, a long timer and a documented two-year warranty, and you have the cookware and circuit for it. Whether it is the right pick depends on current availability, seller support and what else is on the market. Compare it in our portable induction cooktop comparison, then check the current listing for the Duxtop 9600LS portable induction cooktop.
Its compact size helps with storage and transport, but use it only where portable appliances are permitted. Do not assume hotels, dormitories, campsites or RV parks allow them, and confirm the electrical supply first. Induction transfers energy efficiently to compatible cookware, but whether it saves money depends on your cooking habits, local rates and what you are comparing it with, so do not count on energy savings alone to pay for a portable unit.
Frequently asked questions
How many watts does the Duxtop 9600LS use?
Duxtop’s manual lists an output of 100 to 1,800 W on a 120 V, 60 Hz, 15 A circuit and recommends a dedicated outlet.
What size pan does the Duxtop 9600LS need?
A magnetic, flat-bottomed pan with a base of at least 5 inches. The manual does not state a maximum diameter.
Why does my Duxtop show POT, E1, E2 or E3?
POT means no, incompatible or misaligned cookware. E1 points to excess temperature, a fan problem or poor ventilation. E2 means the pan bottom is above about 554°F (290°C). E3 means the voltage is too high or too low. See the error table above and your manual for the steps.
Is the Duxtop 9600LS the same as the BT-200DZ?
Duxtop’s manual covers models BT-200DZ, 9600LS and 9610LS together. Check the model number on your unit and use the matching manual.
Can I use the Duxtop 9600LS with a pacemaker?
The manual tells people with pacemakers to consult their physician first, because the unit emits an electromagnetic field. Our induction cooktop safety guide covers what is known about induction fields.




